Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Mitt and Ann Romney on December 22, 2007, at a...

Mitt and Ann Romney on December 22, 2007, at a campaign event in Londonderry, New Hampshire. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Mitt Romney, the U.S. Republican Presidential candidate, is an idiot. I need to say little more than that, Google ‘stupid Mitt Romney quotes’ and a monumental list of evidence will appear. However I thought I’d present this example of human stupidity through my own eyes. I will concede that politically I do not back Romney, he stands for all the policies I hate and I sincerely hope he doesn’t get chance to implement them.

 

The first and possibly most hilarious thing I’ve heard from Mr Romney was his comment on the 47% of Americans registered to vote Democrat;

 

“There are 47 percent of the people who will vote for the president no matter what. All right, there are 47 percent who are with him, who are dependent upon government, who believe that they are victims, who believe the government has a responsibility to care for them, who believe that they are entitled to health care, to food, to housing, to you-name-it. … My job is not to worry about those people. I’ll never convince them they should take personal responsibility and care for their lives.” -Mitt Romney, in leaked comments from a fundraiser in May 2012

 

Not only is this a sweeping statement which is likely to be wrong, but regardless he’s clearly just alienated this 47% of the vote against him. What kind of idiot would say something this stupid? When you’re in the process of campaigning for the American people to vote for you, don’t believe you’re ever not being recorded or that any microphone is ever off when in public/at a conference. That’s politics 101, not to mention if you are elected as the leader of any nation, your job is to represent all its citizens, not just those who voted for you/aren’t ‘dependent’ on the government. Also correct me if I’m wrong but aren’t we all dependent on the government? To protect our safety and welfare and reflect our wishes? Being the President of the U.S. is a job you know Mitt, not just a free ride to benefit dinners.

 

Another reason I think the man is a buffoon is because he is such a stereotypical rich white American man. He defends big corporations as ‘people too’;

 

“Corporations are people, my friend … of course they are. Everything corporations earn ultimately goes to the people. Where do you think it goes? Whose pockets? Whose pockets? People’s pockets. Human beings, my friend.” —Mitt Romney to a heckler at the Iowa State Fair who suggested that taxes should be raised on corporations as part of balancing the budget (August 2011)

 

Yes it does go in people’s pockets, a tiny tiny percentage of people’s pockets, leaving the vast majority out of the tight circle of wealth. This he makes worse by saying things like;

 

“I like being able to fire people who provide services to me.” –Mitt Romney, using an unfortunate choice of words while advocating for consumer choice in health insurance plans (January 2012)

 

And…

 

“I’m not concerned about the very poor. We have a safety net there.” —Mitt Romney (January 2012)

 

No Mitt you don’t have a safety net, the average standard of living in America is seriously out of balance with the monumental wealth it has. But this is overlooked as North America is so constantly compare with South America, which is torn with drug wars and illegal activity. That doesn’t mean everything is a-OK Mitt. In the UK we have a welfare state and say what you will about the running of it etc, it’s still a brilliant idea and I fail to understand why some Americans are so against the idea of systems being in place to help you get back on your feet should you fall. If I got shot and was bleeding to death I would not have to worry about bankrupting myself and my family because of overpriced extortionate medical bills. I would not have to make the choice between death and a life of debt. The American system is all well and good if you’re either rich enough to afford everything you need, or if you never need anything. But people don’t work that way, and so many American people simply can’t afford to look after themselves. So why oh why would you fight Obama who is trying to improve your standard of living and life expectancy (which is shockingly low given the nation’s wealth)?

 

The UK has a higher rate of house robberies than the US, but the rate of gun crime is minuscule. And as afore-mentioned, I would get free medical care if I were somehow shot. I’d much rather have some little shit steal my stuff than be shot any day. So as not to overlook knife crime in the UK let me ask this, would you rather be shot or stabbed? Because I know what I’d place my bets on for chances of survival.

 

Mitt Romney also claimed that the average wage in America was $200-$250,000. This is literally off by a zero.

 

Measure Some High School High school graduate Some college Associate’s degree Bachelor’s degree or higher Bachelor’s degree Master’s degree Doctorate degree Professional degree
Persons, age 25+ w/ earnings $20,321 $26,505 $31,056 $35,009 $49,303 $43,143 $52,390 $69,432 $82,473
Male, age 25+ w/ earnings $24,192 $32,085 $39,150 $42,382 $60,493 $52,265 $67,123 $78,324 $100,000
Female, age 25+ w/ earnings $15,073 $21,117 $25,185 $29,510 $40,483 $36,532 $45,730 $54,666 $66,055
Persons, age 25+, employed full-time $25,039 $31,539 $37,135 $40,588 $56,078 $50,944 $61,273 $79,401 $100,000

 

(I’m sorry it looks crap, I’m terrible with technology and I can’t get it to look right.) But overlooking for now the difference in America between men and women’s wages, do you really want someone so terrible with numbers in charge of your economy? Do you see anywhere in that chart $250,000? Perhaps that’s the average among his friends, the man is ridiculous.

 

 “I get speaker’s fees from time to time, but not very much.” —Mitt Romney, who earned $374,000 in speaking fees in one year according to according to his personal financial disclosure (January 2012)

 

Speaking of the economy, jobs are of course key, and therefore a major concern for the President.

 

“As president, I will create 12 million new jobs.” —Mitt Romney, during the second presidential debate
“Government does not create jobs. Government does not create jobs.” —Mitt Romney, 45 minutes later (Oct. 16, 2012)

 

Sorry, what?

 

Not to mention the sexist arsehole comment;

 

“We use Ann sparingly right now so that people don’t get tired of her.” –Mitt Romney, referring to his wife while speaking to a room of wealthy donors in Florida, May 17, 2012

 

Your wife is an idiot, to be fair, but could you be more misogynistic? I also loathe is homophobic policies which make him the biggest idiot and bastard in my eyes;

 

 

Do one Mitt, just go do one. I can’t imagine a better parent than my gay best friend and I have encountered plenty of scum bag heterosexual couples. Sexuality makes no difference to the quality of parent, and how good a parent you are is all that matters in a child’s life, not what sex you love. How dare Mitt Romney as a figure of political importance and influence over people perpetuate this hate not only against gay people but against women and non-white people. As President you’re supposed to represent everyone, not just those you don’t have some irrational hatred towards. Prick.

 

And finally in my case against Mitt Romney as a total fucktard I give you the crème de la crème of stupidity;

 

“When you have a fire in an aircraft, there’s no place to go, exactly, there’s no — and you can’t find any oxygen from outside the aircraft to get in the aircraft, because the windows don’t open. I don’t know why they don’t do that. It’s a real problem.” –Mitt Romney, suggesting it would be a good idea to crack a window at 35,000 feet, Beverly Hills fundraiser, Sept. 22, 2012

 

Wow, just wow.

 

On a final final note, Americans you must vote, clearly I am in support of Obama but ultimately you must vote for what you believe in, it is your duty to those who fought for your suffrage and to those who will be impacted by the next President whoever he may be. Do your research and follow what you believe in, even if you are a bastard prick like Romney.

 

 

 

